HOME
CONTACT
FAQ
ABOUT US
PRIVACY POLICY

FAQ

In order to better help our customers, we have compiled a list of the most commonly asked questions.  We hope this will better inform you about Class II/III items and Online transactions.


 

Q:           How do I legally buy a gun online?

A:            The process is actually pretty simple.  Step one is going through the checkout process, just like any other online transaction.  If it is a IRA-X rifle, we build the project to spec.  If it is a serialized component (receiver) then it is prepped for shipping. If it is a consignment item, it is also prepped for shipping. The next step is the most important:  From the time that we send out a confirmation email, we need you to fax us a copy of the handling  FFL holders license within 5 business days.  We can only ship to the address listed on the license holder.  We cannot ship serialized items to a third party address.

Once the shipment has been made to the FFL holder, transferring the item to your own possession in the state of your residence is your own responsibility.

If you cannot proceed with a firearm transaction once an order is placed via the checkout process, funds charged to your card will be refunded, less a 20% cancellation fee. 
To recap:

  • Order.
  • We'll send you an email.
  • Fax the FFL.
  • We ship to the FFL address.
  • You get the item in accordance with your state laws.

If you order an item and it is not exactly what you ordered, there is no return fee.  If you order the wrong item, there is a 15% restocking fee.

 

Q:           I can buy any magazine that I want?

A:           Just be careful of your state.  Don't ask us to you ship in an illegal item. Here's the simple version of the legality:

  • California- No mags over 10rds without a high-cap mag permit.
  • Hawaii- No handgun mags over 10rds.
  • Massachusetts- No mags over 10rds.
  • Maryland- No mags over 20rds.
  • New Jersey- No mags over 15rds.
  • New York- No mags over 10rds made after 1994 (i.e. none marked Law Enforcement only).
  • Chicago-No mags over 10rds.
  • Washington DC- No mags over 10rds.

It's up to you to know the laws of where you live. When in doubt, check it out. If you order somthing that we can't legally ship to you, we will refund your money, less a 30% cancellation fee. Yes, Really.

Q:           What does it take to buy a silencer/suppressor?


A:            The cost will be the Selling price of the firearm or suppressor, the $200 ATF fee for each item, a Notary fee, passport photo fees, and then some labor fees the dealer may charge for filling out and filing the Form IV. In some cases it may be necessary to utilize a Revocable Living Trust. Some dealers can do this for you or you may need an attorney to do this for you. You should know that Class III Items are relatively expensive.

 

Q:           What items are considered Class III by the BATFE?

A:            There are 4 general categories that constitute Class III firearms

  • Machine Guns/Submachine Guns – fire automatically and continuously when the trigger is depressed)
  • Suppressors (Silencers) – decrease the noise of the muzzle blast
  • Short Barreled Rifles (SBR) – the barrel is less than 16 inches in length
  • Short Barreled Shotguns (SBS) – the barrel is less than 18 inches in length

 

Q:           What do I have to do to get a Class III item?

A:            First you must check and see if your state allows the ownership of Class III items. You then must work through a Class III firearms dealer in your state, have them obtain and sell you the item(s) you want, then fill out a Federal Form IV and send it with a $200 application  (tax stamp) fee. The dealer with maintain possession of the item(s) until the BATFE completes your background check and sends your approved paper work back. A separate form must be filled out, paid for, and then approved for each Class III item; even if they are on the same unit (i.e. a suppressor on a machine gun requires 2 forms unless it is welded on the unit).


Q:           How much does it cost to get a Class III item?

A:            The cost will be the Selling price of the firearm or suppressor, the $200 ATF fee for each item, a Notary fee, passport photo fees, and then some labor fees the dealer may charge for filling out and filing the Form IV. In some cases it may be necessary to utilize a Revocable Living Trust. Some dealers can do this for you or you may need an attorney to do this for you. You should know that Class III Items are relatively expensive.


Q:           How long does the process take to get a Class III item?

A:            Once you have the Class III item with the Class III dealer you the will fill out and send in the Form IV to the BATFE. This process takes anywhere from 120-150 days with 130 days being most common. The wait used to be significantly shorter, but there has been so much activity over the past year that the BATF is extending all timelines.


Q:           Can Iron Ridge Arms Company sell me a Class III item?

A:            Yes, if you live in the state of Colorado. If you live in another state which allows for the ownership of Class III items, we will send it to a dealer (licensed for Class III) in your state for the process of BATFE approval.



IRON RIDGE ARMS COMPANY

1110 Delaware Avenue
Suite A
Longmont Colorado 80501
SERVICES
COATINGS
MACHINING + CUSTOMIZATION
SHORT SHOTGUN SYSTEMS
SPECIALTY WELDING
GALLERY
CONSIGMENT
PRODUCTS
IRA-MODS
LE + PRIVATE RIFLE
IRA-X COMPLETE LOWERS
IRA-X STRIPPED RECEIVERS
IRA-X COMPLETE RIFLE
SERIES G2 TRIGGER
SERIES IIA +IIB BREACHER
DISTRO
SUPPRESSORS
OPTICS
SWAG

All content is Copyright © 2010-2011 Iron Ridge Arms Company, Inc. + Ultradeluxxe